Parcours Space Invaders

Gotta catch ‘em all!

Franck Slama aka Invader is a French street artist. Since 1996, he’s been creating a serious of mosaic Space Invaders on walls across some of the world’s biggest cities - including Clermont Ferrand, which he invaded in 2016. Just so it’s clear: in no way whatsoever are we going to give you a list of street names – not even the numbers – of where you can find the 40 different Space Invader artworks spread across the city.

Whether you’re a rookie or a hard-core fan and even it you don’t cheat, you’ll easily come across one or two as you stroll the streets and get drawn into the game, wanting to hunt out the lot of them. Some will be blindingly obvious, like the massive film-inspired invader that welcomes you as you exit the train station, which is a nod to the city’s well-known international short film festival.

Otherwise, you’ll have no difficulty in finding the Serge Gainsbourg invader standing several metres tall which has garnered cult status. But if you need a clue, there just so happens to be a Rue Serge Gainsbourg in Clermont.

As for the rest, it’s up to you to explore, look around and search with the app in hand, ready to “flash” your finds and win points.

As always, the artist did a little more than just simply hang about for the weekend: he took a lot of inspiration from the city and its history and culture, to create original artworks alongside invader classics for which he’s so well-known. Furthermore, he was inspired by the cathedral’s gothic style to create a series of “bat-invaders”. And how can we forget the Bibendum Invader, a nod to the city’s Michelin factories.

The hunt to find all these creatures will also lead you on a quest to discover Clermont’s history. It’s certainly a wonderful way to discover the city, going whichever way the fancy takes you!

Nico Prat

I want more!

Parcours Space Invaders

Attrapez-les tous !

Franck Slama, dit Invader, est un street artist français. Il installe depuis 1996 une série de Space Invaders, réalisés en mosaïques, sur les murs de grandes métropoles internationales… Et à Clermont-Ferrand donc, où il a principalement sévi en 2016. Que les choses soient bien claires : non, nous n’allons en aucun cas, hors de question, vous donner ici les noms des rues, et encore moins les numéros, où vous pourrez trouver les quarante Space Invaders disséminés un peu partout dans la ville.

Mais même sans tricher, que vous soyez passionné ou néophyte, il vous sera difficile de ne pas en croiser au fil de vos promenades et de vous piquer au jeu de les débusquer tous. Certains vont vous sauter aux yeux, comme ce gigantesque envahisseur cinéphile qui vous accueille juste à la sortie de la gare, clin d’oeil au célèbre festival international du court-métrage de la ville.

Ou, absolument culte, ce Serge Gainsbourg de plusieurs mètres, que vous n’aurez aucun mal à trouver, là encore, en cherchant un tout petit peu. Un indice: il existe une rue Serge-Gainsbourg à Clermont.

Pour les autres, à vous de creuser, de regarder, de chercher, munis de l’application permettant de les flasher et de gagner des points.

Comme à son habitude, l’artiste ne s’est pas contenté de poser ses valises ici le temps d’un weekend : il s’est largement inspiré et nourri de la ville, de son histoire, et de sa culture pour créer des oeuvres originales, en complément des invaders classiques qui ont fait son style et sa renommée. Ainsi, la cathédrale et son aspect gothique l’ont poussé à créer des chauve-souris "bat-invaders". Sans oublier l’Invader Bibendum, référence évidente aux usines Michelin.

Chercher ces petites créatures, c’est se lancer dans une quête, mais aussi découvrir l’histoire de Clermont au travers de ces créations. Et une bien jolie façon de découvrir la ville, le nez au vent.

Nico Prat

Encore !